Posted by: givney42 | October 9, 2010

Off the road

It is good to be home. Nigel has been sleeping pretty much all day and night. I know the trip was hard on him, flying is always hard but he did really well, and the flight attendants were very helpful this time around. I am fighting a battle with a chest cold which wants to be more, which is normal for me when I fly.

Since returning to the states I’ve noticed I need more quiet, and calm in my life. While on the camino the main thing one does is get up, walk, find a place to eat, walk, find a bed, sleep, and start the process all over again. Everything is broken down to the basics. And this basic level of life is what feels right to my body and mind. The old adage, of “less is more” is true.  I came home and saw all that I have, and feel like going through it all and really pairing things down to what do I really need and what I don’t.

Now how that is going to play out with my work, I don’t know. But I am not really concerned about it. I don’t know if that is good or not, but just take it as it is. Things have changed. My work is just a job, one that pays my bills. It will no longer be my life. I am more than my work. I am an independent woman who is quirky, loving, a daughter, a dog mom, and a pilgrim. I have all I need, in fact I have more than I need and that requires me to get rid of the extra. And in doing that, I feel better, more calm, more whole.

Leave a Reply

Categories

