Posted by: givney42 | October 6, 2010

On the road to find out.

Spent the day on the train heading to Madrid to catch a flight tomorrow.  A lot of mixed feelings as we rode past the same mountain ranges that Nigel and I had just walked over a week ago. How hard it was to go across in places due to the terrain but we did it. Step by step, I can close my eyes and smell the heather that was in bloom. The smell of the eucalyptus trees. And the smell of incoming rain. 

A number of people who I spoke with about their walking the camino said that once you have walked it once you will want to go again. I believe they are right. There is very different feeling of being on The Way. The pace is different. It is not Spanish time or even anything close to home. You get up at day break and walk…take breaks when you find a cafe or bar, or when the moment suits you. Change socks…a lot. Look for yellow arrow way markers, or ones in the rocks. Then as the light starts to change you start to loom for a bed for the night. While this is easier for those without a dog, we were creative at times. And that is all part of being on the camino. Things are broken down to their basics of shelter, health, and food. 

What will happen once back at home? I really don’t know but I do know that this piece of the journey has changed me. I do know that work may change due to budget issues with the state, and frankly I’m not worried about it. A big thing I have learned is that things happen for a reason, and doors open and close all the time. And it is okay. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

