Posted by: givney42 | September 23, 2010

Thoughts from the bedroom.

Day three of staying off my feet and they are healing! I am feeling better each day about my decision to listen not only to my gut but to others and come to the Peaceable Kingdom. Not only has my body needed the rest, my mind has needed it as well. 

When I first started on the camino, I told myself I would not rush, and yet I could feel inside that, that is exactly what I was doing. I may not have been doing it physically but as I reflect back, I was doing it emotionally. I think that is one of the reasons the blisters came on so quickly and massive. It was my bodies way of not only saying to slow down you old sod! But slow down your mind as well.  Apparently I am not always a good listener.  And it has taken this stopping, literally in my tracks to help not only slow my body enough to heal, but my mind as well so as to take in what I have seen and experienced along the camino. 

Today is the first day I have been able to go without bandage and gauze on my feet. To stand up without the flash of white light in my eyes from the pain.  Last week my feet started to feel like this and then I pushed it and started to walk again. This time I need to listen more carefully and wait till all parts of the blisters are healed and ready before starting the trek once again.  I’m hoping it is soon as I don’t wish to to burden others. I am hoping that in another day or so my feet will be ready to start again. 

This time from Sarria. It may take me 11 days or 7 days. Either way I will do what my body and gut feel is best for them. I only hope that when this journey in Spain is over that I not forget the lessons learned and that I carry them over into my work-a-day life as well. 

Responses

  1. I’m so relieved you have a place to heal physically and emotionally. As a society we are so goal oriented. IT IS the journey not the destination!!! Take your time; this is YOUR journey! Hugs to Nigel. Safe walking……

    Stephanie Gardner


Leave a Reply

Categories

